Scottish Social Services Awards 2017

The awards are open to people who are registered with SSSC or the Care Inspectorate, working in the social services. You can also nominate others. Shortlisted entries will be checked where possible by the appropriate regulator.

If you are entering on behalf of your team, organisation or a colleague we recommend that you obtain their permission before submitting an entry. All winning entries must agree to be made publicly available on the website and social media and for other PR or media opportunities.

There are ten categories which have different criteria which applications will need to meet. You can put in an application to more than one category but you must make sure that each submission shows how it meets the different criteria the judges will look for. Read more in our hints and tips.

Shortlisted entries will be invited to attend the afternoon awards ceremony at Crieff Hydro Hotel on 13 June 2017. They will also be asked to create a short video (1-2 minutes) using a smart phone to help share good practice and promote understanding of the contribution of social services. More details, help and support will be provided to the shortlist.

All entries must...

  • relate to practice or work carried out over the last two years up to the 28 February 2017
  • avoid the use of jargon and be written in plain English – imagine that you are explaining it to a stranger
  • be no more than 1,300 words, or you risk being disqualified
  • be submitted via the online form on the website
  • be received by the deadline of 6.00pm on 28 February 2017
  • not include any supporting information
  • be able to send a representative to the ceremony

Download a copy of the entry guidelines and form.

Judging process

Entries will be judged by panel members and representatives of the Scottish Social Services Strategic Forum. It will be a two stage process.

Stage 1: Shortlisting

There are 5 judging panels including:

  • Supporting the Workforce
  • Understanding Service Quality & Performance
  • Improving Use of Evidence
  • Public Understanding
  • Carers Champion

They will meet in March 2017 to agree a shortlist of three finalists in each category. Entries will be rated on a scoring system which considers how well it has met the criteria we are looking for, the evidence provided and the impact it has made to the lives of others.

Entrants will be informed if they have been shortlisted in April 2017.

Stage 2: Final judging

The Social Work Services Strategic Forum will form a final panel in May 2017 to agree the final award winners.

All shortlisted entries will be invited to the ceremony on the 13 June 2017 at Crieff Hydro when the winners will be announced and receive an award. Places for up to three people will be allocated.


  • Awards open – 16 January
  • Entry deadline – 28 February - NB nominations now closed
  • Workstrand judging panel shortlisting – March
  • Shortlist announced – end of April
  • Final judging panel – May
  • Awards ceremony, winners announced – 13 June


If you are experiencing problems with the online portal or have any questions about the entry process please contact

Register for updates

Register your email address for updates.